Reviews

Nemesis – by Brendan Reichs – A Book Review

“He killed me. He killed me not. He killed me.

It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, a strange man finds her and murders her in cold blood. But hours later, she wakes up in a clearing just outside her tiny Idaho hometown—alone, unhurt, and with all evidence of the horrifying crime erased.

Across the valley, Noah just wants to be like everyone else. But he’s not. Nightmares of murder and death plague him, though he does his best to hide the signs. But when the world around him begins to spiral toward panic and destruction, Noah discovers that people have been lying to him his whole life. Everything changes in an eye blink.

For the planet has a bigger problem. The Anvil, an enormous asteroid threatening all life on Earth, leaves little room for two troubled teens. Yet on her sixteenth birthday, as she cowers in her bedroom, hoping not to die for the fifth time, Min has had enough. She vows to discover what is happening in Fire Lake and uncovers a lifetime of lies: a vast conspiracy involving the sixty-four students of her sophomore class, one that may be even more sinister than the murders.”

img_1434-1

First up, a little background on the author. Brendan Reichs is the co-author of the Best-Selling YA (Young Adult) Series – Virals, which he co-wrote with his mother, best-selling author and anthropologist Kathy Reichs, who also wrote the Temperance Brennan novels which the TV Series, Bones, is based upon. The literary gene-pool is strong within this family.

From a personal note, every book I have ever read by either Brendan or Kathy Reichs (which as far as I know is all of them!), has been utterly un-put-downable, and it’s fair to say that Nemesis is no exception. I read it in two days and could have quite happily just pulled an all-nighter and read it in one, if I didn’t have 5 kids to take care of!

Nemesis is the first instalment in a two-part series and I’m very much looking forward to part-two.

Just like the Virals series, Nemesis pulls you in right from the first paragraph. I don’t want to give too much away and ruin the un-put-downable nature of this book, it’s twists and turns are very much part of what makes it so engaging, and there are certainly many twists and turns.

It starts off following the life of Min, a 16yr old girl with the unusual problem of being murdered by the same stranger every other year on her birthday, before waking up in the forest completely unharmed and with no evidence of anything untoward ever taking place.

What follows are a series of enormous global catastrophes intertwined with a huge government conspiracy that not only involves Min and her classmates, but the entire human race. Culminating in a bizarre plot twist more akin to The Matrix.

If you’ve ever enjoyed the TV series’ Under The Dome, or Between, then I think you’ll enjoy Nemesis.

But don’t just take it from me, as this book is largely aimed at the YA market, once I’d finished reading it myself, I handed it over to Eldest Daughter, 15, another huge fan of Brendan Reichs’ Virals series, so without further ado, I hand the reigns over to her so she can tell you what she thinks……..

My first opinion of the book Nemesis was one of bubbling excitement. Being a fan of the “Virals” I looked forward to reading another book by Brendan Reichs. After reading the blurb I found myself intrigued by the sheer darkness and detail that went into the story, causing me to question my own ideals for the sake of understanding this book.

Min is the perfect female heroine, bold and headstrong she led her friends through dark times and questioned everything that happened to her. Reading about Min’s murders made me feel weak and helpless, for part of me wanted to leap in and help her, much as how she felt about Noah, helping him handle what was going on.

As for Noah, I personally found his character to be weak and spineless with little to no self thought. He spent most of his life dependent on Doctor Lowell and his blue pills, but as we come to learn, Doctor Lowell was part of a pack of lies that twisted Noah’s mind and his views about himself.

The storyline was gripping and had you hooked from the very beginning. Every page came with a new revelation or secret from the past that made you ache for further answers. Secret Government conspiracies are quite easily relatable in modern times and I found it easy to understand the situation and how the characters behaved. Being a teenager myself I could imagine me and my school mates in this position and the likeliness of the same events occurring is quite high.

Overall, I found this an excellent read, riveting right till the very end. The mysteries of Fire Lake are at the heart of a web of lies. The raw darkness that encircles this book is one that makes you shudder at the thought of such events coming true.

Leaving the book on a cliff hanger we are left only wondering what happens next for Min, Tack, Noah and the rest of the Fire Lake sophomore class. How they handle the fact that they are dead but yet alive in a computer program. With this ending I look forward to seeing what is next to come…

 

(Disclosure : We were sent this book by the folks at Macmillan in return for a review, however, all thoughts and opinions are our own)

Leave a Reply

